Fear in the Mirror

“Now looking back I see how the mirror is such a strong, persuasive tool to help the ego or your heart”

It is amazing how friends and family can reenergize you and help you see more clearly.  There is not a doubt in my mind that healing comes from within, but with the closeness of friends and family it can help trigger thoughts that continue the process of healing.

Colleen and Wendy came for a visit this past weekend from Chicago.  It was so great to hug them and know that they were going to be here for the whole weekend; a weekend of yoga, reflexology, cranial sacral and thai massage….it was great.  They arrived late on Friday due to weather delays and so we spent a few hour catching up.  When it was time to crash we had the air mattress set up in the loft for them to sleep….we went up there for a moment, all looked at each other, and laughed, we all wanted to be in the same room.  The next moment we were figuring how to get a blown up mattress around a staircase corner.  We spent another hour enjoying our slumber party and laughing silly like we just got home from prom.  However, the laughter had a much stronger adult content then if we actually were just coming home from prom….makes you realize that certain times in life are extremely easy and we do not even know it.  🙂

All weekend there was so much laughter and tears, but so good to get a new perspective.  I felt like there was a strong theme (for lack of a better word) throughout the weekend.  That theme even though so simple still is such a challenge: The idea of living from you heart, the rawest part of your heart that knows the truth about your journey.  It is there just waiting for you to stop living from the outside, waiting to close the mirror so you can truly hear your own beat.

The mirror is so tricky- we see something we don’t like in someone else, a judgement of sorts and most often we end up feeling bad about it.  However, in truth this is just our own reflection.  When we are able to judge someone else’s decision it takes the light off of us and suppresses our commonality even further.  So this is what they call peeling the onion back one layer at a time.  We are human and far from perfection, judgment doesn’t feel good, but the good news is just recognizing that you are doing it.  We all do it every day (unless of course we have worked past this part of the ego), so next time you judge someone or a situation.  Try to see the empathy on this persons part and see how this fits into your life.  This is an opportunity to forgive and peel a layer back.  It gets so easy and then you won’t be able to  believe how much we all judge on a daily basis.

It has just been recent that I see how the mirror holds the fear, allowing you to open the door to self loath, anger, just being a plain ”mean girl” to yourself.  Sometimes we aren’t ready for the answer, but just hold the thought and move forward.  The more layers we peel, the easier it is to hear the internal heart that will guide you to your true passion.  The love that we all need to share with each other and that goes hand and hand with being happy.  Look around your immediate world…is everyone happy?

There are a lot of books that showcase how to manifest things into your life that will make you happy.  I believe many of these books are amazing, but if you don’t ALLOW these things into your heart bc you don’t believe you are deserving then  you can manifest all day.  ALLOW AND LISTEN  We get intuitive information everyday some as simple as turn here or someone is on your mind all day come to find out they need help.  ALLOW AND LISTEN.  The authors of these books are equally amazing, but if you just go book to book you may be missing the guidance you need.

Allowing and listening will provide an easy path instead of trying to walk through the mountains blindfolded. For example, we set all these intentions and sometimes get frustrated bc we feel like it isn’t working, but we have to allow and listen.  Take the path that feels of love and ease.  I believe many of us take the difficult path, working at jobs we dislike, or being in a marriage that is not serving us or our partner any longer.  These are times where you can judge yourself or blame, but if we just clear our heart and listen there is an easy path that our heart will share.

I used to write my affirmations on my mirror with erase board markers and every morning I would read them.  It felt great to know what I wanted.  But I know the missing link was I knew what I “wanted”, however, didn’t allow it bc I kept doing the same actions in life.  Until something happened to wake me up.  Along time ago I went to a workshop  and the teacher had mirrors for everyone.  She asked us to hold them up and tell ourselves “I love you, you deserve all that life offers in greatness.”   First it felt a little embarrassing, looking around the room you could see some yogis were practically shouting and others wanted to be in a box.  However, after a few moments of letting the guard down it felt like I could see right into my soul.  Of course that was the last time I did it.  However, I have started working with my mirror again and I feel more comfortable telling myself how much I love me.  We have great conversations 🙂  I feel that it is making allowing and listening much easier.  Don’t get me wrong I still have some bad days, but I am listening.

Give your mirror a try and report back!!!   Much love

Holly

Leave a Reply

