Here and Now!

“You don’t have to see the whole staircase, just take the first step.”

A friend of mine emailed this to me last week and I found it so fitting to the challenges that I have been facing.  It it so easy to allow your mind (not your heart…it is never your heart because if it was it would only share the truth with you.) to overwhelm you with any thing in life.  It can be as simple as a job you don’t like and is making you miserable.  It can have the  heaviness of an illness that brings forward the idea of death possibly hindering your healing because once again we can’t control it completely.  The stress from wanting to control  and the fear you allow into your space is enough to make you more ill.  Your mind wants to take you to this place of fear which leads you to believe that you can control it.  In reality you do not control much, other then your attitude that you stand with this issue.

Doing a job you don’t like is something that many of us believe we need to do bc we have to survive.  Maybe we don’t have the self-worth to melt into a new career or maybe it is just simply fear.  I have heard a lot of friends say “I can’t change careers because we need the finances” which may very well be true.  However, when it comes down to it we make that choice by listening to our heart which will guide us to the right answer.  Patience and planning is important (coming from our fast food society).  We want to have the end result without walking the one step at a time listening to our heart making decisions that will bring us happiness.  This is just an example of how we get caught in the trap of “NOT LIVING”.  I always think after getting a degree in criminology, it would be so great if I could go back to 1994 and change my major! LOL  However, there is a reason that this was my path and where it  directed me.  It has taken me on a great journey, learning so much along the way, waking up to the truths of the world.

The greatest realization to this point(as I have had plenty of time to look deep) is that I am LOVE.  When I focus on the truth that my heart is full of love and I have self-worth, fear and control begin to lose their strength.  The more I become my true self, the more I forgive myself for the lessons I have been a part of along the way, the more I learn that I have a purpose here and I will be guided in the direction of my journey.

“Emotions are the doorway to your soul”, allow yourself to let go of everypart of you that you feel is wrong or bad.  Focus on the love you have to give as we are all connected.  Take a couple deep breathes and draw into your mind something or someone that has caused you stress.  On your inhalation bring in a beautiful red light of love and on the exhale release whatever circumstance is bringing in stress.  Take a moment to recognize that we are all at a different place in our journey which should not be judged, but just knowing that everyone is doing the best where they are.

 

These are really challenging concepts because often times if it doesn’t feel normal or acceptable to us we make it wrong.  However, we all have a lot to learn from each other so moving softly to understand instead of judge is a great start.

Many blessings to self-love, and self-preservaton.

 

Holly Peckskamp

Leave a Reply

